Jump to main content

Hans Christian Andersen Award

H. C. Andersen Award is considered the highest international recognition given to an author or an illustrator. Given every other year by IBBY (International Board on Books for Young People), the award recognises lifelong achievement to an author or illustrator whose complete works have made an important, lasting contribution to children’s literature. The Author’s Award has been given since 1956 and the Illustrator’s Award since 1966. The award consists of a gold medal and a diploma, presented at a festive ceremony during the biennial IBBY Congress.

More information about the award: Hans Christian Andersen Award

Estonians nominated for the award

2022Andrus Kivirähk (author award)
2022Piret Raud (illustrator award)
2020Piret Raud
2018Leelo Tungal
2016Piret Raud
2014Aino Pervik